University of Illinois

The University of Illinois is a system of public universities in Illinois consisting of three campuses: Urbana–Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield. Across its three campuses, the University of Illinois enrolls more than 80,000 students. It had an operating budget of $5.6 billion in 2015.

The University of Illinois system of universities comprises three campuses in the U.S. state of Illinois: Urbana–Champaign, Chicago, and Springfield. The campus at Urbana–Champaign is known as "Illinois", "U of I", or “UIUC”, whereas the Chicago campus is known as “UIC” and the Springfield campus as "UIS."

The system is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of thirteen members: the governor of Illinois serves as an ex officio member, nine trustees are appointed by the Illinois Governor, and a student trustee elected by referendum represents each of the university's three campuses. One of the three student trustees is designated by the governor to have a vote.

The University of Illinois system is comprised of three distinct universities and the UI Health system, all of which are supported by central administrative offices. The system and its universities have regional campuses, research facilities, clinics, and Extension offices throughout the state.

The governing and authoritative body of the University system is the Board of Trustees, which is comprised of ten members appointed by the governor, as well as three student members elected by each campus. The president reports to the board and leads the administrative offices that provide centralized services vital to supporting the University’s primary missions. He works with system vice presidents as well as each campus chancellor, who is also a vice president.

The University has carried on its land-grant mission for nearly 150 years, making a lasting impact in academic excellence, discovery and innovation, public service, economic development, and health care throughout Illinois and beyond the state borders. We attract the nation's most talented students with hundreds of undergraduate, graduate and professional programs, many of them ranked among the best in the United States. We are the state's largest institution of higher education, with more than 80,000 students.

The University of Illinois is a Public university located in Urbana.
The University of Illinois was founded in 1867.
The current president of University of Illinois is Timothy L. Killeen.
According to verified online sources, the University of Illinois enrolls a total of 37920 students.
According to the main website, the University of Illinois has a total student population of 18960 undergraduate students and 18960 graduate students.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United States.

Location of University of Illinois